QUESTIONS & ANSWERS

about SafePlace.berlin

For whom is this website?

We are there for all Berlin residents and tourists. The focus of our work is the Schöneberger district around Motzstraße.

We are the citizens' initiative KiezCare e.V. Berlin: An association of neighbours, innkeepers, hotels, shops, artists, web designers. We live/work in Berlin and are committed to it.

Why was this website developed?

Security is a very central need of people and has a great influence on how comfortable you feel in a place. Facts (statistics) and feelings often differ greatly from each other. A realistic picture of the situation creates clarity and also helps against over-dramatization.

Some districts of Berlin are unfortunately targeted by mostly well-organized gangs of thieves. City districts like the Schöneberger Kiez are also traditionally a tolerant "safe place" against homophobic attacks and we want it to stay that way.

Many criminal incidents are not reported to the police because the inhibition threshold is too high. We also document incidents that do not constitute a criminal offense and incidents that are not directly related to violence. Such information is missing from police statistics.

According to our information, police statistics have another problem: If several offences are passed at the same time, only the offence with the highest threat of punishment is registered. So if a victim is insulted and threatened homophobically and then robbed and injured, the incident is recorded in the statistics as "bodily injury" and not as "homophobic hate crime".

The purpose of the association KiezCare e.V.:

... The fight against procurement and other criminality as well as organized crime is the sole responsibility of state institutions. However, citizens of the neighborhood can provide support by exchanging information. By supporting the police, they can also be motivated to pay special attention to this neighborhood. In this way, a contribution is to be made to improving the quality of life of the residents and visitors ... which is often only affected by an accumulation of annoying irregularities. In this respect, the differentiated and unprejudiced collection of information is intended to help improve the quality of life in the neighborhood without ideology and proximity to political organizations - in freedom and security.

What happens with your report data?

Your report is added to our statistics. Those results are added to the official police statistics (not every case gets reported to the police).

This helps crime prevention: Better documentation of these incidences creates more awareness of the problems among local authorities.

What happens with personal data transmitted by users from third parties without their knowledge

If obviously personal data of third parties are transmitted to us without their knowledge (e.g. via our web forms), we remove such data from the report, as a rule within 48 hours.

Such data includes, but is not limited to: very precise descriptions of individuals, photos of them, their names or vehicle number plates.

We have no interest in such data. We want to identify statistical trends, not investigate individual cases. For this purpose we advise you to report it to the police.

Is this service anonymous?

Yes, your report is possible without entering your personal data. If you wish feedback from us, you may leave us your email address. Of course, there is no such thing as 100% anonymity on the Internet.

Can this service be misused/manipulated?

During the development of this project, we intensively discussed how to avoid the possibility of this project being misused for denunciation or for a surveillance state, and how to handle possible manipulated information.

For these reasons we take great care in the programming of the website to include reasonable evaluation of the data and other mechanisms to prevent misuse.

Should the police be called as well?

The police say: "It is in the interest of the victims that every incident is reported." Reporting to the police directly is required if you wish to pursue criminal prosecution of your specific case by the police.


Technical questions

Mobile Phone Preview

The finished report in just 60 seconds:

The (optional) query of your location data does not work?

Querying your local location can help you find your current position on the map quickly, especially if the incident was nearby. Our form does not require any location data, in which case simply enter the form field "Location description" manually. To determine the position, there is a button with a "Pin" symbol on the map. The privacy of your operating system is particularly strict for such queries:

  1. In the data protection settings of the operating system, the browser used (Safari, Chrome, Firefox, etc.) must always be allowed to query location data.
  2. In addition, every time geo-tracking is used on a website, there is also demand for it again.
  3. But it could also be that your mobile phone is in an unfavorable place and cannot aim at several radio masts at the same time in a few seconds.
  4. If you are too far away from Berlin, your location will not be displayed.

Go back to:
Reporting Form
  Top

FRAGEN & ANTWORTEN

zu SafePlace.berlin

Für wen wurde die Website entwickelt - und von wem?

Für alle Anwohner und Besucher unseres Berliner "Motzstraßen-Viertels".

Wir sind die Schöneberger Bürgerinitiative KiezCare e.V. Berlin: Ein Zusammenschluss von Nachbarn, Wirten, Hotels, Läden, Künstlern, Webdesigner. Wir leben/arbeiten in diesem Viertel und setzen uns dafür ein.

Warum wurde die Website entwickelt?

Weil unser schöner bunter Kiez leider auch immer wieder ins Visier von meist gut organisierten Diebesbanden gerät oder Schauplatz für Belästigungen wird. Wir möchten dazu beitragen, unseren Kiez als einen Schutzraum ("safe place"), wo man sicher vor homophoben und anderen kriminellen Übergriffen sein kann (sicherer als anderswo in Berlin), zu erhalten.

Zweck des Vereins KiezCare e.V.:

... Die Bekämpfung der Beschaffungs- und sonstigen Kriminalität ebenso wie der organisierten Kriminalität ist allein Aufgabe staatlicher Institutionen. Dabei können jedoch Bürger der Nachbarschaft durch Informationsaustausch unterstützend tätig werden. Durch die Unterstützung der zur Gefahrenabwehr zuständigen staatlichen Stellen können diese zusätzlich motiviert werden, ein besonderes Augenmerk auf diesen Kiez zu werfen. So soll ein Beitrag zur Verbesserung der Lebensqualität der Anwohner und Besucher des Schöneberger Kiezes geleistet werden, die oft auch nur durch eine Anhäufung lästiger Unregelmäßigkeiten beeinträchtigt wird. Insofern soll die differenzierte und vorurteilsfreie Informationssammlung helfen, die Lebensqualität im Kiez zu verbessern ohne Ideologieausprägung und einer Nähe zu politischen Organisationen - in Freiheit und Sicherheit.

Was geschieht mit den Daten?

Eure Angaben werden in einer Statistik gesammelt. Diese Daten ergänzen offiziellen Statistiken, da viele Vorfälle der Polizei nicht bekannt gemacht werden.

Das dient der Prävention: Eine bessere Dokumentation dieser Vorfälle schafft mehr Bewusstsein für die Probleme bei den lokalen Behörden.

Was geschieht mit von Nutzern übermittelte personenbezogene Daten von Dritten ohne deren Kenntnis

Werden offensichtlich personenbezogene Daten Dritter ohne deren Wissen an uns übermittelt (z.B. über unsere Webformulare), entfernen wir derartige Daten aus der Meldung, in der Regel innerhalb von 48 Stunden.

Solche Daten können z.B. sehr genaue Beschreibungen von Personen, Fotos von ihnen, deren Namen oder Kfz-Kennzeichen sein.

An diesen Daten haben wir kein Interesse. Wir wollen statistische Trend ermitteln, keine Einzelfall-Aufklärung betreiben. Für diesen Zweck raten wir zu einer Anzeige bei der Polizei.

Ist der Service anonym?

Ja, Dein Bericht ist ohne Eingabe Deiner persönlichen Daten möglich. Wenn Du Feedback von uns wünschst, kannst Du uns Deine E-Mail-Adresse hinterlassen. Eine 100%ige Anonymität gibt es im Internet natürlich nicht.

Kann der Service missbraucht/manipuliert werden?

Während der Entwicklung dieses Projekts haben wir intensiv darüber diskutiert, wie man verhindern kann, dass dieses Projekt zur Denunziation oder für einen Überwachungsstaat missbraucht wird, und wie man mit möglichen manipulierten Informationen umgeht.

Aus diesen Gründen legen wir bei der Programmierung der Website großen Wert auf eine sinnvolle Auswertung der Daten und andere Mechanismen zur Vermeidung von Missbrauch.

Sollte man auch die Polizei informieren?

Die Polizei sagt: „Es ist im Interesse der Opfer, dass jede Tat angezeigt wird.“ Ohne eine direkte Anzeige bei der Polizei geht es nicht, wenn Du eine strafrechtliche Verfolgung des konkreten Vorfalls durch die Polizei willst.


Technische Fragen

Mobile Phone Tutorial

In nur 60 Sekunden zum fertigen Report:

Die (optionale) Abfrage Deiner Standortdaten funktioniert nicht?

Die Abfrage Deines lokalen Standorts kann Dir helfen, Deine aktuelle Position auf der Karte schnell zu finden, speziell, wenn der Vorfall in der Nähe war. Unser Formular benötigt keine Standortdaten, in dem Fall einfach das Formularfeld "Ortsbeschreibung" manuell eintragen. Zur Standortbestimmung gibt es in der Karte den Button mit einem "Pin"-Symbol. Bei solchen Abfragen ist der Datenschutz Deines Betriebssystems besonders streng:

  1. In den Datenschutz-Voreinstellungen des Betriebssystems muss dem genutzten Browser (Safari, Chrome, Firefox, etc.) grundsätzlich erlaubt sein, Standortdaten abzufragen.
  2. Zudem wird jedes Mal bei der Nutzung des Geo-Trackings auf einer Website auch noch mal nachgefragt.
  3. Es könnte aber auch sein, dass sich Dein Mobilphone gerade an einem ungünstigen Ort befindet und nicht verschiedene Funkmasten in wenigen Sekunden gleichzeitig anpeilen kann.
  4. Wenn Du zu weit weg von Berlin bist, wird Dein Standort grundsätzlich nicht angezeigt.

Zurück zu:
Melde-Formular
  Top